Venezuelan community associations in France call for international solidarity to fight the coronavirus in Venezuela

 

The arrival of the coronavirus pandemic in Venezuela is a source of great concern because the country does not have the health, economic or technical capacity to deal with the effects of the pandemic on the population

 

On the one hand, the various care centres do not have the necessary implements to meet the needs of people infected with the coronavirus. Thus, there is a known lack of medicines and beds to attend to medium-severe cases; at the same time, the shortage of more complex implements, including respirators and oxygen, to treat severe cases that need resuscitation is deplored. In addition to this, there is a poor hygiene conditions in health care facilities where the lack of soap and water makes it extremely difficult to practice the basic hygiene measures recommended to prevent infection. On the other hand, the minimum conditions of bio-protection for the medical personnel is not guaranteed (masks, gloves, glasses, disposable gowns), so they are risking their lives while caring of others. A  reality that is worsened by the economic situation of the different actors who operate in the health centers, especially the public facilities, whose payments are often subject to delays, and are structurally insufficient to deal with the context of hyperinflation that the country is experiencing.

 

The situation of the health system is in a general context that makes it difficult to manage the effects of the pandemic. The practice of the containment strategy as a method of preventing infection is severely limited due to the precarious conditions in which the population lives. Indeed, Venezuelan people experience daily deprivation in terms of access to the various public services (water, electricity, gas, gasoline, telecommunications) that make them more vulnerable to the health crisis. This vulnerability has an even greater impact on a large part of the population whose survival depends on day-to-day economic activities. 

For them, confinement is a chosen risk between the preservation of health and the need to work to cover daily expenses, especially food.

 

Among all difficulties, many actors are building strong efforts to face the effects of the pandemic. Venezuelan NGOs and associations are joining international actors to meet the medical and food needs of the population. However, because of the great difficulties of the Venezuelan situation, named by the United Nations as a "complex humanitarian emergency", even more accompaniment, even more aid, even more solidarity is needed.

 

In this sense, we, as associations of the Venezuelan community in France, dedicated to the work of aid and humanitarian action towards Venezuela, have joined together to fight against the coronavirus in Venezuela. Our associative activities allow us to know the difficult realities on the country and to report on them. Our establishment in France forces us to be in solidarity and to build bridges between our original country and our adoption country. For these reasons, we want all together make an appeal of conscience and humanity, especially to the French and European authorities to ask for their support in our efforts to face the current pandemic in Venezuela.

 

We therefore request the necessary resources and intermediaries to achieve the following:

 

1/ The opening of a humanitarian space in the country, facilitating the Pan American Health Organization to monitor and distribute biosecurity implements that will allow the different workers in the medical system (doctors, nurses, health assistants, cleaning staff...) to work in safe conditions for themselves, their patients and those who may come into contact with them in the exercise of their duties;

 

2/ The arrival of the United Nations World Food Programme (WFP) in Venezuela. Within this framework, we ask for the humanitarian agencies, organizations and associations to be the ones who distribute the resources that arrive through the WFP. This will make it possible to meet the food needs of the population arising from the complex humanitarian emergency and aggravated by the pandemic;

 

3/ The access to gasoline (fuel) in Venezuela; this resource must be managed transparently by recognized actors such as the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA). On the basis of this reliable management, it will be possible to give access to gasoline to the various sectors of the population, especially for the priority ones  (health system personnel, food producers and distributors, associations and NGOs carrying out health and humanitarian work).

 

Together we make our requests and at the same time we propose our assistance from the organizational, mentoring and advice point of view, based on our knowledge as organized actors with experience on the Venezuelan realities. In the same way, we propose our initiative as an example for all those organizations of the Venezuelan community abroad and we invite them to join and share this message of solidarity. Only if we remain together we can fight against the coronavirus in Venezuela.

 

 Paris, April 24, 2020.

Les associations de la communauté vénézuélienne en France lancent un appel à la solidarité internationale pour affronter le coronavirus au Venezuela

L’arrivée de la pandémie de coronavirus au Venezuela est une source de grande préoccupation compte tenu du fait que le pays n’a pas les capacités sanitaires, économiques ou techniques pour faire face aux effets de la pandémie sur la population.

 

D’une part, les différents centres de soins ne disposent pas du matériel nécessaire pour répondre aux besoins des personnes infectées par le coronavirus. Ainsi, le manque des médicaments et des lits pour traiter les cas de gravité moyenne est avéré ; de même que l’on déplore la pénurie d’équipements plus complexes, y compris des respirateurs et d'oxygène, pour traiter les cas graves qui nécessitent une réanimation. D’autre part, on observe des conditions d’hygiène précaires dans les centres de santé, où le manque de savon et d’eau rend très difficile la mise en œuvre des mesures d’hygiène de base recommandées afin de prévenir la contagion. Par ailleurs nous constatons la situation difficile du personnel médical, à qui l’on ne garantit pas les conditions minimales de biosécurité (masques, gants, lunettes, blouses jetables) pour les protéger pendant qu’ils risquent leur vie pour autrui. Il s’agit d’une réalité d’autant plus douloureuse qu’elle est aggravée par la situation économique des différents travailleurs et travailleuses qui font vivre les centres de santé, notamment au sein des établissements publics, dont les salaires sont généralement sujets à des retards et sont structurellement insuffisants pour faire face au contexte d’hyperinflation que connaît le pays.

 

La situation du système de santé s’insère dans un contexte général qui rend difficile la gestion des effets de la pandémie. La stratégie de confinement comme moyen de prévention de la contagion se voit fortement limitée du fait de la grande précarité dans laquelle se trouve la population. En effet, les Vénézuéliens et Vénézuéliennes connaissent quotidiennement des privations en termes d’accès aux différents services publics (eau, électricité, gaz, essence, télécommunications) qui les rendent plus vulnérables à la crise sanitaire. Il s’agit d'une vulnérabilité qui a des effets encore plus importants sur une grande partie de la population dont la survie dépend des activités économiques quotidiennes. Pour eux, l’isolement pour la préservation de la santé entre en concurrence avec la nécessité de travailler pour faire face aux dépenses quotidiennes, notamment alimentaires.

 

Dans ce contexte très complexe, de nombreux acteurs déploient d’importants efforts sur le terrain pour faire face aux effets de la pandémie. Les ONG et associations vénézuéliennes se joignent aux acteurs internationaux pour répondre aux besoins médicaux et alimentaires de la population. Cependant, étant donné les grandes difficultés de la situation vénézuélienne, caractérisée d’« urgence humanitaire complexe » par l’Organisation des Nations Unies, il faut davantage de soutien, d’aide et de solidarité.

 

En ce sens, nous, en tant qu’associations de la communauté vénézuélienne en France dédiées à l’aide et à l’action humanitaire en faveur du Venezuela, nous sommes unies pour lutter contre le coronavirus au Venezuela. Nos activités associatives nous permettent de connaître les réalités difficiles du terrain et d’en rendre compte. Notre implantation en France nous oblige à faire preuve de solidarité et à construire des ponts entre notre pays d’origine et notre pays d’accueil. Pour ces raisons, et à travers notre parole commune, nous souhaitons lancer un appel à la conscience et à l’humanité, en nous adressant notamment aux autorités françaises et européennes pour solliciter leur soutien dans nos efforts pour faire face à la pandémie du coronavirus au Venezuela.

 

De ce fait, nous sollicitons le soutien matériel et les médiations nécessaires à l’obtention de :

 

1 / L’ouverture d’un espace humanitaire au Venezuela, permettant à l’Organisation Panaméricaine de la Santé de diriger la distribution des équipements de biosécurité nécessaires aux différents intervenants du système médical (médecins, infirmiers, assistants de santé, personnel de nettoyage...) pour travailler dans des conditions de sécurité pour eux-mêmes, leurs patients et ceux qui peuvent être en contact avec eux dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions ;

 

2 / Le déploiement du Programme Alimentaire Mondial (PAM) des Nations Unies au Venezuela. Dans ce cadre, nous demandons que les agences, organisations et associations humanitaires puissent être en charge de la distribution des ressources provenant du PAM. Cela permettra de répondre aux besoins alimentaires de la population provoqués par l’urgence humanitaire complexe, et qui s’aggravent dans le contexte de la pandémie ;

 

3 / L’accès au carburant au Venezuela en sollicitant une gestion et distribution transparente pratiquée par des acteurs réputés dans la matière, comme c’est le cas du Bureau de la Coordination des Affaires Humanitaires (OCHA) des Nations Unies. À partir de cette gestion fiable, il est possible de donner accès à ce carburant aux différents secteurs de la population, et en particulier à ceux qui devraient en avoir un usage prioritaire (personnel de santé, producteurs et distributeurs de denrées alimentaires, associations et ONG réalisant des actions sanitaires et humanitaires).

 

Nous portons ces demandes d’une même voix, tout en proposant notre assistance et notre conseil sur la base de nos connaissances en tant qu’acteurs organisés et familiers des réalités du terrain vénézuélien. De la même manière, nous proposons notre initiative comme un exemple pour toute autre organisation de la communauté vénézuélienne à l’étranger. Nous les invitons à nous rejoindre et à partager ce message de solidarité. C’est seulement unis que nous pourrons lutter contre le coronavirus au Venezuela.

Paris, 24 avril 2020.

  • Facebook
This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now